Love’s demise

There was a time when you and I fell together
When our wings intertwined and we plummeted forever
You were the flint against my steel
Intense, crippled by passion surreal

Your burning hands set my blood on fire
Our pounding hearts were spun into an inferno of desire
Pulled downwards by unforgiving gravity
Two angels falling towards mortality

Your halo, a radiant glow
Your soul, white as the purest snow
Had me enthralled, bewitched, enslaved
I hungered, I craved and I craved

Your wings were as white as mine were black
Your courage was strong but mine was slack
Shining eyes, silver hair
My beloved Angel, irrefutable fair

It was inevitable, we were torn apart
I blame my soul so craven

Because my wings and my heart
Are those of a Raven

(Picture found here)

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Love’s demise

  1. Fredrik Kayser says:

    One usually follows the other for me, but I’m sturdy, I was built to endure. I’m good at that. :)

  2. Fall caused by love? By disappointment? Or it’s just a sort of low spirit? :(

  3. Fredrik Kayser says:

    I know the fall, I know it well. I know the crashing into the ground even better. Honestly, I’m surprised I’m not more jaded than I am.

  4. Wow, that’s profound!! Demise… Yes, it can be sometimes… :)

Leave a Reply

