The Smile of Ravens

So here’s the translation I promised. Note that I’ve translated as much of this poem word for word as possible to keep it ‘intact’ but as a result I had to throw grammar out the window – or at least that’s what it felt like, haha.

My heart has not danced,
since the last time I truly smiled.
A remnant from a time past,
my crooked smile has never quite been enough.
Am I not human too?

I dance amongst the elves* beneath the moon’s glow,
Swirling laughing daughters of the mist.
A raven amongst wolves,
I am the forest’s black wings.

There she walks amongst the trees’ shadows,
Clad in a gown made of stars’ lights.
Dance on green, light feet you daughter of the forest,
With a scent of eternal spring,
In your golden hair.

The trolls their sinister songs sing,
with witchcraft on each and every tongue.
Be on your guard (my) fair one,**
To their queen they want to crown you!

With a screeching voice I sang,
As ravens often do,
A warning word.

Curses flew on troll-tongues quick,
But in the raven’s chaos,
They their queen to be lost.
Over logs and rocks,
Fleeing we went.

But the escape was all we had,
and all we would ever get,
be we danced anyway.
Fear not what we together might lose,
For ravens’ hearts cannot break.

Alone I sit in the forest’s darkest corner,
and remember the dance we shared just uss two.
My smile is perhaps not whole
and maybe it isn’t enough.
But it was with forest-dance in his heart,
that the raven smiled.

* Älvor or elves aren’t your typical Tolkienesque Legolas or Arwen, they’re more like fairies that live in the mist upon meadows and in forests.
**This line is really tricky to translate in it’s context. Word for word Min = mine and sköna = fair but “my fair” just isn’t right. My fair one is closer but still a little clunky.

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Thought Rants and More and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Smile of Ravens

  1. Devan says:

    I actually saw it a few weeks ago. It really was beautiful. Both the story and visually!

  2. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you, Devan. : ) Glad you liked it. I was reminded of the movie the soundtrack is from, The Fountain. Have you seen it? Got me thinking and inspired that story although with a sci-fi flavour instead. If you haven’t seen the fountain i strongly recommend it, one of the best movies I’ve seen. It’s beautiful.

  3. Devan says:

    I wanted to comment on your last post, but wordpress isn’t letting me at the moment.

    Such a good story and the music is beautiful! :)

  4. Fredrik Kayser says:

    I grew up with Swedish and Norwegian. In Sweden English is a core subject in school from the third grade and up. That in combination with our habit of importing TV and entertainment from the U.S and the U.K has made most Swedes decent if not fluent.
    When I really began learning for real was around 7th grade. : )

  5. Devan says:

    That would be ambitious! I’m sure that all languages have their challenges, but some definitely seem harder to get the hang of than others. Did you grow up speaking English or did you learn it later in life?

  6. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Never too late to learn another language. : )
    I would like to learn something like Farsi or maybe Icelandic.

  7. Devan says:

    Not at all. It’s a beautiful language! I wish that I was bilingual.

  8. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thanks, Devan. : ) Must sound a little strange, no? Swedish I mean.

  9. Devan says:

    This is beautiful and magical, Fredrick! :) I like it a lot.

Leave a Reply

