Asking the “impossible” questions

One thing I will never understand,
is their reluctance toward introverted exploration.
Why are such explorers sneered at?
Victims of snide remarks,
from those unwilling to explore the depths.
Is the prospect of wrestling with a question,
that has no definitive answer so daunting,
that it warrants such reluctance and hostility?

It is a question of identity,
an answer they all belive they have,
or think not important, irrelevant.
The answer itself might not be important,
but the opposite has to be considered too.
Are you afraid you’ll drown?
That if you can’t answer “you” will no longer be “you?”

As the answer to such questions tend to elude,
both them and us,
it stands to reason we are not yet capable of comprehending it.
All the more reason to tackle them.
How else are we to figure out who we are?

Who am I?
Why am I here?
Does life have meaning?

I wrestle with questions such as these,
not because I think I will find an aswer,
but because the willingness to explore is important.
In search for things I know I am unlikely to find,
I stumble upon things I actually need.

Who knows?
Perhaps I will stumble upon something extraorinary,
something as mindblowing as an actual answer.
It is worth imagening,
regardless of how remote the possibility might seem.

I do not know who I am.
I do not know why I am here.
I do not know the meaning of life.
I have not lost my identity,
I never had a sense of direction to begin with,
and meaning is highly subjective.

So start asking the hard questions, damn it!
No one else can answer them for you.
Or are you content not knowing?
Content  with ignorance?

I’m not.

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Asking the “impossible” questions

  1. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you, Seth! :)

  2. sethsnap says:

    Great question. Lovely!

  3. aR Vhee says:

    You’re welcome =)

  4. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you, Ar Vhee. :)

  5. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thanks, Laekan, glad you liked it. I’m keen to agree with you on that. ;)

  6. aR Vhee says:

    I love this post.

  7. Loved this. It makes me wonder if our identify isn’t found in the answers to those questions but in the questions themselves, more importantly in the ones we’re brave enough to ask and how.

  8. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you, Devan! :)

  9. Devan says:

    I like your thoughts here, Fredrik. Well said! :)

Leave a Reply

