Cleaning up

I can’t move forward when I don’t know where to go.
That’s a half-lie.
I don’t want to move forward to where I should be going.
Yeah that’s more toward the truth.
I can’t move forward when I don’t care where I’m headed,
Might as well just drift.
Go back? And do what?
No, I can’t go back.
There are to many sorrows there,
Too much pain mixed in with all the laughter and joy,
Happiness saturated with it, jaded.
There are too many hours I don’t want to revisit,
There are too many ghosts there.
I wouldn’t change a single thing,
Why?
Why risk losing myself on the off chance that I might feel less broken?
Strong are not they who recover,
but those who suffer and go on anyway.
I will take the present moment,
Problems, ghosts, all kinds of crap,
I will take it all,
Because that’s what made me and that,
Is the mess I’ve made.
Now hand me the god damned broom.

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

