In the Dark of the Forest

No one really knows what it was we saw,
that day we got lost in the woods.
The wind whispered in our ears,
Crowing Ravens sang,
hidden in the green.

The mist swirled and danced about our feet,
Voices deeper than the under-mountain rumbled,
like drums amongst the trees.
Fossegrim played his lonely violin,
and Huldre came dancing by,
while the forest enthralled us both.

Beware those who venture into the heart,
of forest, mountain, or the mist.
Your feet might find the way out,
but a touch of green will forever remain,
rooted in your soul.
Those who enter the forest,
can never truly leave.

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In the Dark of the Forest

  1. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thanks again for the kind words! Very glad you like it:)

  2. Just Patty says:

    Love this!
    I adore the images you create with your words.
    Definitely enjoy my stay on your blog! :)
    Lots of love
    Patty

  3. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you! Glad it spooked you a little, haha! :) I will have to have a look.

  4. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thanks, and yes, the comment pushed that one to the front of my head. :>

  5. Very beautiful! What a great song to accompany it, mysterious and filled with imagery one would perceive on such a journey in the Dark Forest. Actually…I must say reading this felt eerie as well, because it reminds me of this short story I imagined a while ago. Through your words I revisited this place, thank you for that. If you wish, you can read this short story called “As of here…” on my blog. Thank you for this wonderful read!

  6. Beautiful poem, you have a gift with imagery I swear! And it reminds me of the comment you left on my page :D

Leave a Reply

