Hear Ye, Hear Ye

Perhaps it is folly on parade,
but the smiling mask must stay on.
I have had enough,
of this soul-crushing sharade.

So I chase the illusions,
a colourful yet fragile dream,
that imbued these stained-glass windows,
with a breath of life.

I would rather take on a world,
filled with dragons, trolls, and dungeons,
sword in hand,
than dance to the tune of depravity that made us thralls.

We are all attending the ball,
as Life itself holds court,
and walts to the tune of the Fiddler’s greed.
I refuse to dance.

When among kings and queens,
self-appointed and crowned,
I raise my glass to the jester,
with sharp wit and a quick tongue.

I would rather be a blacksmith’s apprentice,
forged in the fire of a tough life,
or a scribe whose only treasure is the Word,
than a Prince crowned in arrogance.

We are all slaves in the kingdom of Apathy.
So I do the only thing I know how,
wield a pen as a sword,
and cut the bounderies that bind me to this reality.

Thus I invite you to unshackle your imagination,
step through the painted glass,
and into the dream,
embark upon a quest  with me to discover the unseen.

Adventure lies in the mysteries within.

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hear Ye, Hear Ye

  1. Fredrik Kayser says:

    I am two parts Norse actually, haha. Half Swedish and half Norwegian. :) As a pagan and a native it’s something I’ve spent a lot of time reading and thinking about.
    I love that he’s a bit on the evil side. Makes him all that more delicious! ^^

  2. Just Patty says:

    I know the Norse god as well, I find mythology very interesting! :)
    You are part Norse right? So you must know a lot about this!
    O yes, the Marvel Loki, he’s a bit evil isn’t he? I like that.

  3. Fredrik Kayser says:

    By proxy I suppose, yes. I was more referring to the Norse god. : ) I do like the Marvel version of Loki as well, though!

  4. Just Patty says:

    Would that be the Marvel Loki? Based on the God Loki? I like him actually! :)
    Lots of love

  5. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you, Patty. I suppose it’s a bit of my nature shining through here, hehe. Got a bit of Loki in me!

  6. Just Patty says:

    I really like your style Fredrik, it intrigues me.
    Lots of love
    Patty

  7. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you! :)

Leave a Reply

