A Good Night’s Rest

How long has it been,
since I truly slept?
Come nightfall I linger,
accepting the invitation to rest ~
with mock alacrity.

Sure, I close my eyes,
and go through the motion of sleep,
but I am bereft of far more than simple rest.
Someone remind me,
of what it is to dream!
How sweet it would be,
to welcome the dawning of new day,
rather than dread the hours until sunrise.

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Good Night’s Rest

  1. Just Patty says:

    Hmmm yes, it would be nice to sleep every once in a while.
    Great poem!
    Lots of love
    Patty

Leave a Reply

