I Know an Old Scarred Tree

There are things, which weigh heavily on me.
I won’t lie, I too have my share of scars.
But unlike some mine lie dormant,
They’re hibernating dragons breathing fire within my eyes,
Glowing visions of dreams past.
There is a tree growing within me,
It’s roots run deep,
tendrils that have dug their way through my heart,
And into my soul.
The leaves like the dragons in my eyes,
are different shades of fire,
Clad in the finery of autumn.
This tree has a name,
I know because I traced its name as it was written in the bark,
With my own trembling fingers ~
Alone.

Yet as the leaves fall and what is old begins to wither,
It does so with the beauty found in sadness,
The sweet chill of winter,
Before the dawning of a new spring.
So I’ll take a knife and change the runes,
And carve a name anew,
This time by choice.
Longing hope, lasting desire, not alone.

 

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Know an Old Scarred Tree

  1. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you, Grace! I’m very flattered. :) I sent you a reply through email, not sure if I got the adress right though, hehe.

  2. Grace says:

    I am motivated by your poem, Fredrik. It filled me with the courage to confess that I deeply admire both your talent and your person. Unfortunately, this is a public message, so I cannot convey everything I wish to. Please, could you contact me via the email I provided? I very much wish to speak to you.

    I know it’s creepy to get messages from faceless people on the internet so here is a link to my Flickr account:
    At least it will help put a face to this message : ). I look forward to hearing from you.

  3. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you so much!

  4. Uyama says:

    This is deep and I can totally relate. Well written, fredrik!

Leave a Reply

