Creature of Habit

Often I wonder,
what I would learn,
if I lived a day as your shadow.
Stricken am I,
far to often for comfort,
by a question simple and plain ~
What is it like to be normal,
to live a life without addiction,
pulling at strings in your brain?

Escapism distilled,
from fantastical abstraction,
forming a dreamscape distraction,
laden with the addictive attraction,
of recurring transation ~

between a creature of habit,
and his inner demon.

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creature of Habit

  1. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you, Josh. Some days are tougher than others, it’s like limbo in which the only sound I hear is the beating of my own pulse against the inside of my skull. It’s not a subtsance addiction in my case, neither is it gambling per se but there are similarities to the gambling type.

  2. joshuabertetta8306 says:

    Nice Fredrik…nice to read something of your again and if speaking of addiction from personal experience, totally sympathize with the struggle

Leave a Reply

