Thought rant

In some ways thoughts are extremely useful tools, but in relying on them exclusively to grasp, understand, and define firmly places the human experience within a fixed framework. For as long as I have remembered I have been staring at that framework thinking, ironically, about how to break out of it. It’s perhaps not a surprise that I turned to the other tool known to me, emotion/instinct/feelings. The process of acquiring further tools isn’t perhaps the way to go, since even though the idea seems appealing I doubt whether or not it would work or even be possible. The question, then, seems to me to be how to redesign the tools we have at our disposal. It could also be that the issue doesn’t lie in the tools per se but rather in how we use them. What I am currently asking myself is what the limitation of thought is, how far exactly can I extend? If I can perceive there being a frame can I reach beyond it? Or is there only a frame there because I envisioned it as such? Am I boxing myself in trying to understand it?

The answer is very likely yes, I see water. Attempting to grab it will certainly make for a pair if wet hands, but in order to hold it I have to be submerged in it. I have to become it. Thoughts… How far can they take us?

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Thought Rants and More. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thought rant

  1. A psychologist once said to me, “Your brain is a three-pound organ in a 150-pound body.” Our blood and our bile are as much a part of what we’re thinking as our intellect. I agree that there’s a tension in play with our thoughts. They form the framework of our understanding, but by putting them into boxes like that, they limit us. The universe was here long before we invented words to understand it. How would we imagine it differently if we invented new words today?

  2. Fredrik Kayser says:

    :)

  3. rondita says:

    “In some ways thoughts are extremely useful tools, but in relying on them exclusively to grasp, understand, and define firmly places the human experience within a fixed framework.” Det här är så sant! :)

Leave a Reply

