In Search of the First

My heart, my spirit, is a forest,
shrouded in the darkest of greens,
come with me for a while,
hearken to the countless lives and dreams,
lurking among the trees.
Lo, the light of full moon’s glimmer,
painting glade and moss,
in pale blue silver.
Walk with me, as I make my way deeper,
as my countenance changes,
donning the keeper’s guise.
Within the glade we seek,
a bonfire burns,
flames defiant of storm-ridden skies,
the beating heart of my existence.
Adrenaline, surging with laughter,
I drop to my knees.
I see a faceless man,
and a woman in white.
I ask, as I have asked a thousand times before,
what was the name,
of the me that came before?

About Fredrik Kayser

Everything is connected.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Search of the First

  1. Fredrik Kayser says:

    Thank you : ))

  2. Lucia B. says:

    Beautiful, Fredrik.

Leave a Reply

